David Wright

"No Angel"

10th June 2005
reviewer: David Wright
rating: 5 out of 5
published by: Arista
released: 16th October 2000
  1. Here With Me
  2. Hunter
  3. Don't Think Of Me
  4. My Lover's Gone
  5. All You Want
  6. Thankyou
  7. Honestly OK
  8. Slide
  9. Isobel
  10. I'm No Angel
  11. My Life

I found out about Dido when I was reading the album credits for ‘Sunday 8pm’ by Faithless. I surfed their web page and found a track sample off ‘No Angel’, decided I had to get more, and found a couple of mp3s. This was getting better and better. I trawled record shops and chain stores and finally imported it from Amazon, about 10 months before it was released in this country.

For those who don't know, Dido is Rollo’s (Faithless) brother, and appears on vocals on both albums, is on the new Eminem album and sang the theme tune to Roswell High. I've played this album solidly for months now and I never tire of it. Each time I pick new meanings, sounds and various parts to the album. There are several of styles on this album, mainly upbeat 'poppy' tunes at the start of the album, but the further you get the better it becomes. There's effective use of acoustic sounds on No Angel, My Lovers Gone and Slide.

The album was produced by Dido, her brother Rollo (obviously now deciding she should give up her day job), Rick Nowels and Youth, and what a beautiful album it is. Unified by both Dido's stunning voice and lyrical acuteness, the album travels through various and diverse styles ranging from the impassioned magnificence of "Here With Me," the gentle soulfulness of ‘Thank You’ (featured in the Gwyneth Paltrow movie, Sliding Doors), the deep dubbiness of ‘Honestly OK’, to the lyrical perversity of ‘Don't Think Of Me’. Combining Dido's warm acoustic sounds and her brother's fascination for beats and all things electronic, the album is both new and classic at the same time. Above all, it is the quality of the songs that will make this album both durable and popular. Dido has a gorgeous, melancholic, lilting voice and some extraordinary flowing, witty and ultimately charming lyrics.

Overall this is a very impressive album. Give it a listen.

More Info