Darragh Walsh

"A Rush Of Blood To The Head"

10th June 2005
Album Cover reviewer: Darragh Walsh
rating: 5 out of 5
published by: Parlophone
released: 26th August 2002
  1. Politik
  2. In My Place
  3. God Put A Smile Upon Your Face
  4. The Scientist
  5. Clocks
  6. Daylight
  7. Green Eyes
  8. Warning Sign
  9. A Whisper
  10. A Rush Of Blood To The Head
  11. Amsterdam

This chart-topping album is the highly anticipated follow-up to Coldplay's critically lauded, multi-platinum selling debut, ‘Parachutes’.

Coldplay are one of the more recent additions to the nowadays all-too-abundant ranks of British guitar bands, many of whow we have grown accustomed to seeing fall apart on the brink of superstardom, with the Verve being a perfect example - a fantastic, critically and publicly acclaimed band who fell apart just as they achieved mainstream success. Coldplay, on the other hand, seem different. The band appear to be working in perfect harmony with each other, this album displaying guitarist Jonny Buckland's incendiary melodies punctuating perfectly frontman Chris Martin's hushed vocals, which seem to have a discovered a deeper octave since displaying unashamedly falsetto tones on tracks such as the crowd-pleasing ‘Yellow’.

Listening to the 11-tracks on ‘A Rush Of Blood...’, one could cite influences ranging from the obvious - ‘The Bends’-era Radiohead - to the obsure - Icelandic chill-out merchants Sigúr Rós. Obvious highlights include the instantly memorable ‘In My Place’, the majestic piano-led ‘The Scientist’ and the anthemic title track. Any burden placed by the legacy of their debut album, ‘Parachutes’, is immediately dispelled upon listening to any one of these songs, as this album excels it's predecessor in almost every way imaginable. The only blemish on this otherwise immaculate aural landscape is the disappointingly folky ‘Green Eyes’, which perhaps would have been more at home as a B-Side to it's only melodic brethren on the album, ‘Warning Sign’.

But despite this shortcoming, this album is essential listening for any fan of the finer indie acts, such as the afore-mentioned Radiohead, Red House Painters, or a ballad-mode Stone Roses, and should keep any listener, whatever their musical inclinations, enthralled right from the pounding opening of ‘Politik’ through to the final fade-out of the mesmerising closing track, ‘Amsterdam’.